Mentorship

Mentorship

Be a Mentor

Share your story!  Mentorship allows students and mentors the chance to connect about career and networking.  True mentoring is much more than just answering occasional questions, it’s an ongoing relationship of learning, dialogue and challenge. This form of experiential learning can be very powerful and inspirational to students who are learning about potential paths for after graduation and want to know the stories of UBC alumni who went through the same process.

Throughout the school year, there are a number of ways for alumni to connect with students here on campus. The various programs below provide information on how to get involved as a mentor and help alumni stay connected with UBC and individual faculties.

To get involved in mentorship at UBC, please use the links below to find a program that interests you. If you have any general question, please contact alumni.ubc@ubc.ca.

Arts Programs

Arts Tri-Mentoring Program

Seeking: Arts alumni from any of Anthropology, Asian Studies, Economics, English, Geography, History, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology.

Contact: Bonita Perko
arts.mentoring@ubc.ca

Film

Seeking: UBC Film Production alumni working in the industry

Contact: Gerald Vanderwoude
gerald.vanderwoude@ubc.ca

International Relations Tri-Mentoring Program

Seeking: UBC IR Alumni and Liu Scholars

Contact: Andrea Reynolds
irmajor.program@ubc.ca

Science Programs

Science Mentoring Program

Seeking: Medical researchers, UBC alumni, graduate students, teachers, and other industry/faculty members

Contact: Erin Green
mentoring@science.ubc.ca

Computer Science Tri-Mentoring Program

Seeking: Industry/faculty members with a Computer Science background who are working in the field

Contact: Michele Ng
mng@cs.ubc.ca

Other Mentoring Programs

Thunderbird Mentoring Program

Seeking: Mentors who participate can expect to give one hour of their time to one student, one time – if they wish to participate more regularly then we welcome that opportunity. Mentors should be one of: supporters of UBC Athletics, alumni of a sports team, parent of a current varsity player or simply an enthusiast of sports in general.

Contact: Program Manager: Cassy Dypchey
778-887-2134Program Advisor: Steve Bell-Irving
604-722-1523

Engineering Mentoring Program

Seeking: Engineers in industry or academia

Contact: Jonathan Lowe
jonathan.lowe@ubc.ca

Forestry Mentoring Program

Seeking: UBC Forestry alumni

Contact: Chiara Longhi
chiara.longhi@ubc.ca

Golden Key International, UBC chapter

Seeking: Golden Key International alumni or honourary members and other local professionals

Contact: Derek Zhang
trimentoring@ubcgoldenkey.org

Entrepreneurship@UBC

Seeking: Qualified members of the business community

Contact: info@entrepreneurship.ubc.ca

Kinesiology Mentorship Program

Seeking: Kinesiology, Human Kinetics, Recreation & Physical Education alumni

Contact: Jackie Hoffmann
kin.alumni@ubc.ca
jackie.hoffmann@ubc.ca

Land and Food Systems Tri-Mentoring Program

Seeking: Professionals in fields related to Land and Food Systems

Contact: Natalie Lim
natalie.lim@ubc.ca

MBA Career Development Programs

Seeking: Sauder Alumni

Contact: Carly Boettcher
Carly.boettcher@sauder.ubc.ca

Student Housing and Hospitality Services Mentorship Opportunities

Seeking: Residence Life Alumni

Contact: Kaitlyn Hazzard
kaitlyn.hazzard@ubc.ca

Leaders of Tomorrow (LOT) Mentorship Program

Seeking: Industry experts and established professionals

Contact

Connect to Success Mentorship Program (YMCA)

Contact: Laurie Sinnott
lsinnott@ywcavan.org