Mentorship

Be a Mentor

Share your story!  Mentorship allows students and mentors the chance to connect about career and networking.  True mentoring is much more than just answering occasional questions, it’s an ongoing relationship of learning, dialogue and challenge. This form of experiential learning can be very powerful and inspirational to students who are learning about potential paths for after graduation and want to know the stories of UBC alumni who went through the same process.

Throughout the school year, there are a number of ways for alumni to connect with students here on campus. The various programs below provide information on how to get involved as a mentor and help alumni stay connected with UBC and individual faculties.

To get involved in mentorship at UBC, please use the links below to find a program that interests you. If you have any general question, please contact alumni.ubc@ubc.ca.

Faculty Specific Programs

Arts Programs

Arts Tri-Mentoring Program

Seeking: Arts alumni from Economics, English, History, International Relations, Linguistics/Speech Sciences, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology
Contact: Jordan Rongavilla – jordan.rongavilla@ubc.ca

Film

Seeking: UBC Film Production alumni working in the industry
Contact: Sarah Crauder – sarah.crauder@ubc.ca

Engineering Mentoring Program

Seeking: Engineers in industry or academia
Contact: (604) 822.6720

Forestry Mentoring Program

Seeking: UBC Forestry alumni
Contact: (604) 827.2740

Kinesiology Mentorship Program

Seeking: Kinesiology, Human Kinetics, Recreation & Physical Education alumni
Contact: Joanna Pedersen – joanna.pedersen@ubc.ca

Land and Food Systems Tri-Mentoring Program

Seeking: Professionals in fields related to Land and Food Systems
Contact: Karla Carreras – lfs.trimentoring@ubc.ca

Medicine Mentoring

Contact: Katya Leonardia – osa.coordinator@ubc.ca

Sauder Mentorship Programs

Seeking: Sauder Alumni
Contact: Jess Tang – Jess.tang@sauder.ubc.ca

Science Programs

Science Mentoring Program

Seeking: Medical researchers, UBC alumni, graduate students, teachers, and other industry/faculty members
Contact: Erin Green – mentoring@science.ubc.ca

Computer Science Tri-Mentoring Program

Seeking: Industry/faculty members with a Computer Science background who are working in the field
Contact: Michele Ng – mng@cs.ubc.ca

Multidisciplinary Programs

Golden Key International, UBC chapter

Seeking: Golden Key International alumni or honourary members and other local professionals
Contact: trimentoring@ubcgoldenkey.org

Other Mentoring Programs

Entrepreneurship@UBC

Seeking: Qualified members of the business community
Contact: info@entrepreneurship.ubc.ca

Mastercard Foundation Mentoring Program

Contact: Nathalie Lozano-Neira – nathalie.lozano-neira@ubc.ca

Residence Life Mentoring

Seeking: Residence Life Alumni
Contact (Vanier): Joey Cheng – joey.cheng@ubc.ca

Contact (Gage): Mike Cheung – mike.cheung@ubc.ca

Sustainability Mentoring

Contact: Kshamta Hunter – kshamta.hunter@ubc.ca

Back to top