Global Alumni Network

Global Alumni Network

UBC alumni live and work in over 150 countries around the world. We keep in touch with those grads – and they keep in touch with each other – through our Global Alumni Network. We have a number of Alumni Leadership Committees and Global Alumni Ambassadors who help represent alumni UBC in cities around the world and strengthen the alumni community in their region. They are available to answer local questions you may have, and they help bring fellow alumni together through virtual or in person gatherings, and other types of initiatives, too.

Look for your local contact below, or reach out to the alumni UBC team to explore openings in your region!

To get the most up-to-date information for your region, please update your address.

For more information on additional ways to keep in touch with UBC wherever you may be, check out our list of Top Ways to Stay Connected with alumni UBC!

Global Alumni Ambassadors (By Region)

Africa & Middle East

Dubai - Sajida Shroff, BA'90, BEd'93 - sajida_shroff@post.harvard.edu

Mauritius - Stephen Scali, BA'95 - s.scali@alumni.ubc.ca

Asia Pacific

Australia (Perth) - Peter Farr, MASc'66 - farr.peter@farr.com.au

China (Beijing) - Syed Faiz Jaffar, BA'17 - syed.faiz.jaffar@gmail.com
WeChat/Weixin - alumni UBC Beijing

China (Guangzhou) - Albert Tam, BCom'80 - alberttam.ca@gmail.com
WeChat/Weixin – alumni UBC Guangzhou

China (Shanghai) - Joseph Ho, BA'94 - josephho@icloud.com
WeChat/Weixin – alumni UBC Shanghai

China (Shenzhen) - Mary Shu, BCom'13 - 664519746@qq.com
WeChat/Weixin – alumni UBC Shenzhen

Hong Kong - Eugene Ho, BCom'93 - alumniubchk@gmail.com
Facebook / Instagram / LinkedIn / Sauder Alumni Club of Hong Kong Facebook

Indonesia - Elliott Setiawan, BCom'06 - elliott.setiawan@gmail.com

Japan - Robin Mah, BA'91 - robinkmah@gmail.com
Facebook

Malaysia - Nicolas Leong, BCom'96 - nicholas_leong12@yahoo.com

New Zealand - Chris Hall, LLM'95 - chall@toddcorporation.com

Philippines - Timothy Dy Guani, BCom'10 - timdyguani@gmail.com
Facebook

Singapore - Chelsea Guy, BHK'06 - guy.chelsea@gmail.com
Facebook

South Korea - Eric Kim, BCom'13 - kimdh.eric@gmail.com
Facebook

Taiwan - Justin Kao, BSc'01, kjustin225@gmail.com
Facebook

Vietnam - Kelly Wong, BCom'02 - kyhwong@gmail.com

Europe

France - Frances Liang, BSc'96, BSc'01 - fliang@alumni.ubc.ca

Greece - Fofi Orfanou, BA'97 - forfanou@otenet.gr

Ireland - Ceilidh Long, BA'14 - c.anne.bailie@gmail.com

Portugal - Robyn Freiheit, BKin'15 - rmfreiheit@gmail.com
LinkedIn

United Kingdom - Christy Nair, Associate Director, Alumni Engagement - christy.nair@ubc.ca
Facebook

London -  Christine Harris, BA’01 – christinejharris@gmail.com / Pinar Centilmen, BA’10 - pcentilmen@gmail.com

Switzerland - Jacqueline Kartberg, BSc’98 - ajrelova@gmail.com

Turkey - Oben Okta, BA’20 - obenokta@hotmail.com

Latin America & Caribbean

Chile - Fernando Murillo, PhD'18 - fmmurillo@uc.cl

Monterrey, Mexico - María del Carmen Benitez Flores, MET’08 - benitez@tec.mx

Canada

Alberta

Calgary - Christy Nair, Associate Director, Alumni Engagement - christy.nair@ubc.ca
You can also connect with our alumni UBC Calgary ambassadors.

Lethbridge - Cathy Meyer, DEDU'97 - cathy.ubcalumni@gmail.com

British Columbia

Okanagan - Krista Stokell, Alumni Engagement Officer - krista.stokell@ubc.ca

Victoria - Christy Nair, Associate Director, Alumni Engagement - christy.nair@ubc.ca

Ontario

Toronto - Tom Vosper, Associate Director, Development & Alumni Engagement, Toronto Region - tom.vosper@ubc.ca.
You can also connect with our alumni UBC Toronto ambassadors.

Ottawa - Ryan Flewelling, BA'99 - RFlewelling@dsavocats.ca

Barrie - Andrew Zyp, BASc'93, LLB'02, MBA'02 - andrew@zyp.ca

Quebec

Montreal - Jason Masih, BSc'17 - montrealalumni@outlook.com
Facebook / LinkedIn

USA

New York - Wilma Suen, BA'92 - wilma.suen@alumni.ubc.ca / Kara Spotton, BCom'17 - kara.spotton@alumni.ubc.ca
Facebook

Seattle - Denise Kwok, BASc'15 - denisekwokk@gmail.com

California

Los Angeles - Daiz Wang, MEd'11 - dzwang@gmail.com

San Francisco/Bay Area - Grace McKenzie, BSc'16 - gracemckenz@gmail.com

Global Alumni Ambassador Spotlight

Fernando Murillo, PhD'18

Fernando Murillo, PhD’18 - Chile

Fun Facts

  • Intrepid hiker (including arriving to the top of an active volcano)
  • Chinese food lover

Chelsea Guy, BHK'06

Chelsea Guy, BHK'06 - Singapore

Fun Facts

  • My first name is actually Elizabeth, even though I’ve always been called Chelsea because my parents wanted my first name to be formal. My full name is Elizabeth Chelsea Guy.
  • My last name is actually supposed to be Ngai. When my grandfather immigrated to Canada from China, he told the immigration officer what his last name was. He interpreted it as Guy, so we are the Guys in Canada!
  • I have two labradoodles - one caramel and one chocolate coloured.

Audrey Tong

Audrey Tong, BA'16 – Ottawa

Fun Facts

  • Foodie/Chef-in-the-Making
  • Dancer
  • Policy Wonk

Do you want to represent alumni UBC in your region?

You could get involved as a Global Alumni Ambassador or a Social Media Ambassador!

The ideal Global Alumni Ambassador is interested in getting to know fellow alumni in their region, and in strengthening the UBC alumni presence where they live through communications, virtual or in person gatherings, and other community building initiatives.

The ideal Social Media Ambassador is active on social media and has an interest in helping alumni connect via virtual platforms, and facilitating online communities in their region.

Reach out to the alumni UBC team at global.alumni@ubc.ca to find out more!

Back to top